RSS

The Waiting Game

18 Jun

6 months into our project and I’ve got something new going on. I’m more excited about reading Aaron’s story than I am about hearing some feedback on mine. I mean, I always look forward to reading what he has to say, but I’d be lying if I said I didn’t want to hear about my stuff. But this month, especially with his rampant enthusiasm about the project, I’m stoked to see what he churns out. I guess it still is a bit selfish because it’s based off something I wrote first. What can I say? I’m ego-centric.

My story is written, revised once, and I’ll probably put together one more set of edits before I send it out later in the week.

So let me talk instead about something Aaron and I did for a long long time. Skits. I’m sure we’re not the only ones – young actors and writers in high school who watched lots of sketch comedy (yeah The State) and said “Hey, we can do that!” And we did. A lot. I think I have somewhere in the vicinity of 6-8 hours of skits that we’d done through the ages.

What would happen is Aaron would have some guys over (me, Kevin, and Will were most often involved, though other supporting characters came in here and there). It wasn’t always at Aaron’s, but probably more than half of our shenanigans took place there. At first, our skits were nothing more than someone coming up with a basic idea (and I mean a real basic idea), putting the camera on, and pushing record until someone decided to stop it. That’s how we came up with such classics as: Screaming Yellow Zonkers (the skit) and something about a bunch of Juans and a monkey (which I think was based on an improv skit of Aaron and Will’s). In time, we’d start to come up with a concept and start to actually, you know, move the camera and do cuts. Then we even started coming up with characters. We never went as far as actually scripting anything or even editing things, but we gave it our best shake.

There are a few nuggets of comedy gold within the hours of videotape, and someday if I have the ability to transfer VHS to DVD, I might do so. Some of my particular favorites were the “I HAVE CRABS” skit, Life Before the Advent of Midgets (which for some reason made Doug laugh so hard he cried), and The Thing. I’m kidding, the Thing sucks and always has. But it was special in that it was a skit made where we couldn’t speak louder than a whisper.

Anyway, yeah, Aaron and I did a whole lot of crap and out of that came a few gold nuggets. And THAT is what I’m hoping for with this project. Except, y’know, less crap.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 18, 2012 in a bit about me

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “The Waiting Game

  1. Carol Bell

    June 18, 2012 at 2:56 pm

    What about The Door-to-Door Accordian Salesman? My parents would be SO happy to hear that the accordian that my father dragged home from Europe during WWII, and was played by my mother at Veteran’s Hospitals on many a Christmas Eve, was put to good use!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

