RSS

And so it begins

11 Jan

it was either 1992 or 1993 when Derek and I first met.  ‘how to host a murder’ parties were all the rage, even more than they are today (if you can believe it).  an old childhood friend who had moved away moved back to my town, and in the between years had become friends with some truly strange and unusual people.  the murder mystery needed another character, so i was invited along.  somehow, needing someone extra turned into having one too many people so two of us had to double up.  Derek was one of them and I was not the other, it was our friend Jason.  they am socks.  or boots?  i forget.  like i said it was about 20 years ago.

[DS edit: Jason and I were both Scoop – “Hi, I’m Scoop. This is Scoop. Together, we am Scoop.” You were Socks, a guy who wore Argyle, if my memory serves me. And how we stayed friends was a fluke. I didn’t get much of an impression of you that night, but as you left, you said, “If anyone has a party, invite me!” Then in the summer, probably 6 months later, I was having a pool party and I told Josh to invite you, because you told me to. That was the start, again, from my memory. That’s when we hit it off.]

while our friendship has gone through the usual ups and downs, one thing that could always be said was that we were two peas in a pod.  two peas in a pod like a fox!  we have acted together, written music together, done improv together, worked backstage on shows together, fallen out of trees together, lived together, filmed skits together, gotten married todifferentwomen, and spent countless hours causing each other to laugh so hard it hurt.

it has been a few years since i’ve had enough time and desire to try to get serious about writing again.  i had recently finished giving a quick once over to a novel Derek had written fixing a few things and giving some feedback for a rewrite.  since i did such a bang up job on that project, i was asked to read over a thematic email he had written to another friend because there was a possibility of using the genre as the basis for another story.  it was around the time i was reading the letter that i decided a few things –

1. i am sort of enjoying reading through the story with a more editorial mindset than just for my own enjoyment (i read A LOT, so it was a nice change of pace)

2.  i really wanted to get back into writing again myself.

3.  i definitely am not a fan of the old 20’s era gumshoe stories

i started working out an idea that i’ve had in my head for about 4 years.  starting to put it down on paper was proving to be a bit more difficult than i had thought.  i figured i would need a little bit of motivation to keep myself plugging away at the story instead of just letting it sort of fade into the back of my mind.  i shot Derek an email asking a favor of him.  i asked for him to send me an idea for a short story each month.  any idea.  it didn’t have to be anything special, just something that i could work on that month.  having there be a sort of deadline on each project would keep me motivated, even if the deadline was only for myself.

apparently he liked this idea.

i got an email back saying that Derek had been slacking in his own writing lately and that this could be a way to get himself back into the game as well.  we tossed a couple ideas around and decided that we would come up with a couple story ideas by the 25th of every month.  we would then pick one of the ideas and that would be the subject for that month.

for as alike as we are, the two of us think in very, very different ways.  i think are curious to see how each of us writes a story based on the same subject matter.  more than anything else i think that we are hoping to use this undertaking as a way to keep us writing, especially since we both now have young children who take up a lot of our ‘free’ time.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 11, 2012 in short story project 2012

 

Tags:

One response to “And so it begins

  1. Jaymar

    January 12, 2012 at 12:02 pm

    I love this! I’m tempted to even ask to participate… at least it’ll give Derek and I a fun project for a potential Dirty Dozen list. Good luck fellas, can’t wait to see what you come up with.

     

Leave a Reply

 
