RSS

Haven’t Done a Damn Thing

12 Mar

This month seems to be the story of life getting in the way. I got a good idea that I like and just haven’t had the time to dedicate to getting it down on paper. Maybe I’ll just wait until the 13th like I do every other month.

Instead, I want to talk about ‘Dash. It’s the board game Balderdash – quite a fun game by its own right. However, my friends were always so creative growing up that playing the game under normal rules became pretty boring. You’d have 6 funny answers and then “a bone in the neck” or something. You KNEW which one was real. So we changed the rules where you just write whatever you want, and you vote for whichever you like best. If you’re the reader and have the actual definition, you have to incorporate it VERBATIM in your answer, but can add whatever you like before and/or after the text. Which is precisely what we’re doing with this month’s story. I’m trying to keep as “pure” as possible – not changing any of the hes to shes, and not changing the punctuation. The punctuation might be a problem, as I have one sentence that would work much better with a colon than a period. But I’ll figure that out if I ever get around to writing it.

Anyway, I have a Dash Dictionary on my website that I keep of my all-time favorites throughout the years. There’s tons of good stuff on there. But I’m going to save you some time and list my favorites that were REAL answers that were altered. Enjoy.

bobabza – a mine rich in ore, similar to Bonanza, a show rich in horses (Aaron)
breastweed – a lizard’s tail, used to cure inflammation of the breast: “Hi, have we met? I’m a lizard” (Paul)
capernoited – slightly tipsy, not drunk, but tipsy enough to get your head stuck in a Trapper Keeper (Stacey)
loppet – to stumble, while walking or running, into a vat of ill-tempered wolverines with ADD, so they forget to hurt you and you can just swim through (Bryan)
wanion – the realization that menstruation is actually bad luck due to the waning of the moon (Cyrus)
Anton Van Leeuwenhoek – inventor of the microscope and centrifuge. Sometimes he gets really drunk and tries to find out how dizzy he can make an organism get (Mitch)
George Blaisdell – invented the Zippo lighter that, once lit, never goes out until a forest disappears (Caroline)

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 12, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Haven’t Done a Damn Thing

  1. Ash

    March 12, 2012 at 2:32 pm

    What’s a Trapper Keeper?

     
    • aaronsbell

      March 12, 2012 at 4:32 pm

      i can’t tell if i should respond with a “crap, we’re old” comment or a “you grew up in the middle of nowhere” comment. instead i will settle with – i have 600 words written and my mind if completely unfocused and i may not get anything done until the day the story is due.

       
      • Ash

        March 12, 2012 at 4:54 pm

        You’re correct. After Derek explained what they were, I remembered I got 2 for my 7th or 8th birthday.

         
  2. Julian

    June 25, 2014 at 12:28 am

    I have to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this blog.

    I’m hoping to view the same high-grade blog posts by you in the future as
    well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my own website
    now 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
