RSS

Different Direction

05 Apr

Aaron, you may be the only one to read this regularly. But go away.

There are many directions this new story can take. All I know is that I felt February and March were a little too close stylistically, so I definitely want to branch out somehow. Nothing involving a fantasy world – I want to set it in reality. Actually, my first impression is to do a very sweet story involving elderly people at a bus stop. I think it could be done right, but then again, would it be interesting, even for a 5000 word story?

I’ve also thought about having a God vs. the Devil thing, but that could be a cop-out. Truth be told, I have a very good idea for a story I’d like to write, and I could probably manhandle it into this topic, but then you run into a problem. March was a perfect example – it was a story idea I’d already had and I worked the sentences into it. Now, I think that one was pretty successful, but to do that here would be less successful.

I also gave some thought to having someone from the future visit themselves every day at a bus stop. I’m not sure why they’d do this – perhaps to convince them NOT to get on the bus each day? I’m not sure. The problem there – it’s quite close to another play I’d written, and although I feel that play could one day do for a novel/story adaptation, I don’t know that this is the venue for that.

There’s also been a part of me that wants to write about something other than people, but I think this isn’t the month to do that. After all, “people” is in the topic description. The month is only 5 days old, so I’m not to worried about having written 0 words or even settled on a basic topic.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 5, 2012 in derek's writing, monthly topic

 

One response to “Different Direction

  1. Carol Bell

    April 5, 2012 at 9:30 pm

    Evidently I am the other person who reads this regularly!

    Two recent children’s books came to mind when you mentioned traveling from the future. One is A Year Without Autumn, by Liz Kessler. The other is When You Reach Me, by Rebecca Stead, which won the 2010 Newbery Medal. You might want to check them out.

    Also, I am now wondering at what point in your story the people will no longer see each other. (Convoluted, I know) What I mean is will you develop the story, and have it end when one does not show up at the bus stop? Or will you write a story that will start or continue after one does not show up? The possibilities are endless!

    Have a joyous Easter!

    Carol

     

Leave a Reply

 
