RSS

How is it already the 7th?

07 May

I’m not a wait-until-the-last-minute guy. While I think I’d be okay cramming a story out last-minute, it’s just not my style. However, when I looked at the calendar and saw that a) I’ve already lost a week (mainly due to being very sick) and b) I have a CRAPTON to do this month, I’m starting to worry. I’ll be away for 3 days next weekend for our anniversary, then will be in NY for a week. Actually, being in NY will probably be a great time to write, but it’ll be quite late in the month by that point.

Anyway, here’s what I’ve got cookin’ for this month (Aaron, look away). 7 is a symbolic #. You see it everywhere. So I think I want to make the flights of stairs more metaphorical than literal. Like a 7 circles of hell thing. I’m envisioning them being tests of some sort, though what type of tests or who would be taking or monitoring these tests I have no idea. I simply liked the idea of no one having ever ascended even 2, and someone was on like 4 or 5. It’s a very rough idea that I haven’t fleshed out.

And part of the reason why I’m stuck with a vague idea is that I am not sure what the 2nd storyline I want to use is. The spaceship one is easiest. Literally, the 7 flights of stairs could be the entire interior of the ship, thus making it quite “interesting”, but also kinda “cheap”. Similarly, the quest to acquire something is also something of a cheap thing, because by definition the person ascending the steps is on a quest. The other three are more interesting:

  • a town votes in a new holiday that causes controversy
  • a zombie apocalypse with a happy ending
  • a story about a guy who writes short stories about a girl who writes short stories about love

Of course, interesting doesn’t necessarily mean I’ll pick them. I may end up taking a cheap way out, particularly if I keep with the symbolic stairs thing. I dunno. I may pick an evening in the next day or two and just start writing, see where it takes me. Maybe that’ll help.

Incidentally, I immediately thought of how a zombie apocalypse can have a happy ending. It involves zombies realizing that once they’ve feasted on every living soul, it’s basically a food shortage. So, to prevent famine, they decide as a race (a species?) to let the last few human survivors live and repopulate. Of course, then you run into some serious inbreeding questions, as well as… is it really a happy ending if they’re just going to wait for more fresh brains and then attack again? Either way, I’m not sure I’m going to use this idea for a story because I don’t know how to fit 7 flights of stairs into it.

Anyway, I couldn’t find a clipart of a happy zombie, so you get this instead.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 7, 2012 in derek's writing, monthly topic

 

Leave a Reply

 
