RSS

Things seriously need to slow down

09 Jul

My life is crazy. Work is crazy. I seem to have no time to do anything. Ash yesterday pointed out that a better way of saying “I have no time for this” is “This is not one of my priorities”, but really, I feel like I don’t have time for anything.

That’s part of the reason July’s topic is so vague and uninspired. We did get some suggestions from Facebook, but nothing jumped out at us, and we’d already lost a week of time due to an unexpected tragedy. (I blogged about it here and here for any who are interested.) So rather than dig into something limiting, we went for a very simple pseudo-topic, which means for the 2nd month in a row you are likely to read two very different stories.

Wow, that is a much bigger picture than I thought.

Back in March, I came up with an idea for a story that I really liked. I was trying to figure out how to cram the 5 sentences into this story, and it just didn’t work. And try as I might, the rest of the topics I got didn’t fit it either. Well, now this topic is vague enough that it would work, and it would work quite well. Part of me sees that as a cop-out, as the idea isn’t freshly derived from this topic, but you know what? It WAS conceived as a part of this project, so I’m okay using an old topic.

Let’s just say it involves a game a Texas Hold ’em and a C-section birth. I’ll let it gestate for a few days to see if I don’t think of something else in the interim, but for now I think I’m going to roll with this.

Oh, and Aaron’s mange? I haven’t talked about it in a while, but let’s just say it’s better that I don’t.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 9, 2012 in derek's writing, monthly topic

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
