RSS

Meeting tomorrow night

25 Jul

The story is done. I actually had it done last week, but it was far enough removed where, reading it over a few nights ago, it seemed almost new to me. That’s both a good sign and a bad sign.

The good news is that the story on paper is largely the one I had in my head. I was figuring that this story would be one that I would get away with without much research (I know ALL about Hold’em), but realized that, in order to make it have real-life applicability, I’d have to do research about cesarian sections and the complications thereof. I started to do research into the exact terminology that might be used in a real-life situation, but had trouble finding much online that was taken from OTHER scripts and so forth. In the end, I loosened the slack on that restriction and and went for style more than accuracy. Hopefully it doesn’t detract from the story.

I really like writing “devil” characters. The Devil (the actual character in my plan Everyguy) was one of my favorite characters to write, second to Orbit, who still remains one of my favorite characters of all time. I also wrote Satan in a short scene with Kevin in Prometheus Productions’ Two Weeks Two Worlds where he has to fire his butler. That may not have been the best example. However, devil characters are just inherently more fun than “good” characters. They get all the good lines. This wasn’t much of an exception. Though The Protector does have a few good zingers in there as well. But yeah, that The Reaper? He’s kind of a dick.

The bad news has to do with surprising myself. One reason I am a TERRIBLE theatre director (of my own work) is that I bring nothing. I wrote the words on the page, and I make it my job as director to make sure those words all come out right. But if someone else directs a piece of mine, they get to bring NEW, fresh ideas out there that enhance my ideas. This story was the same way. As it was an idea I’d been kicking around for a while, what came out was largely what I had envisioned with a few minor tweaks. It’s a bit of a let-down in that respect.

All in all, though, it is probably my most powerful “serious” story this year, even more so than the first one (though that January story might appear to be a comedy until 3/4 the way through). I think it stands alone pretty well. I’m curious what Aaron will think.

I’ll try and comment on his story later this week or early next.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 25, 2012 in derek's writing, monthly topic

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
