RSS

Rummagings

13 Aug

I see Aaron’s gotten quite far in his story, based on his total lack of input this month. It’s a pretty limiting topic, actually. Even if you don’t stick to it to the letter (my character may not be a con-man, specifically), you still have to have a man (gender is specified), and the police are after him, and he committed a crime, and he has to help them solve it. My first impulse was obviously to fight this and try to find loophole after loophole, but nothing was coming to me. I also then thought “well, let’s do comedy”. That also threw out the window (what would a silly crime be? A fashion crime? Ugh.)

The entire concept (this topic was Aaron’s brainstorm) immediately brought to mind John Vanderslice’s song Continuation. Here are the lyrics:

How could the killer keep killing
Now that the killer’s dead?

The killer’s way was known to no one
And the telltale clues are locked
Inside the detective’s head

He’s been dead for days
Still killing us anyway

There is me and rieger
And thomson and foley only
And thomson and foley don’t fit the profile

Got a break in the case
Soon i’m going to make him
I’ll wait until he kills again
Then i’m gonna come down

How could the killer keep killing
Now that the killer’s dead?

So detective rieger stands alone
As the suspect killer, he was a good cop
But always a little off

Got a break in the case
Soon i’m going to make him
I’ll wait until he kills again
Then i’m gonna come down

So i shadowed rieger until
He became a part of me

After weeks of pursuit
We locked up in a feedback loop
He was following me too

So I was originally going to assume nobody had heard this song and lift ideas directly from it. But I’ve already done that before, even to John Vanderslice. I used another song of his (Time Travel is Lonely) in my play of the same name. Of course, there I got his permission (I couldn’t believe it when he emailed me back!)

Aaron, stop reading here.

But in short, that was another dead end. So then I started jotting down other ideas. One of my rejected topics was an epistolary story not about love, and I figured I would keep the epistolary idea. I’m not ruling out that idea entirely, but it might not work well. Then I had the idea of making his overprotective grandmother the one who finds out what he does and turns him in (“I know what you did last summer, whippersnapper!”) This was rejected outright for obvious reasons.

Then I just started writing any ideas that popped into my head. I had a time travel idea, but since 3 of our 14 stories have already dealt with time travel, I figured that idea had been done to death. Then I scribbled something about an assassination of a president. Not bad, but still not quite what I wanted – it would get too red-tapey for me. Then I wrote down human cloning. I just sorta let it sit for a while. A few hours later, I came back to it. Not much new, but still I liked the idea.

So as of now, it’s a bunch of random ideas. He didn’t actually commit the crime, his clone did. But the gov’t is trying to go after the institute that is doing it, and so they track a bank robbery to him from fingerprints and video – they offer to lessen his sentence if he helps them by getting access to a dr. friend of his (who happens to be the one who cloned him).

It could work. I have lots to flesh out, and not much time to do it. I figure I got a little over a week to piece it all together. I’d also love to work a subplot into here, but I don’t want it to get to Multiplicity levels. Hmmm, this one will be a nailbiter.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 13, 2012 in derek's writing, monthly topic

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Rummagings

  1. Steven Bell

    August 13, 2012 at 2:25 pm

    Derek,

    There’s one thing that always bothers me in stories involving cloning: When you clone a living being you don’t end up with a fully grown, mature clone. If you clone a human, you will end up with an infant (or you can go back further to a zygote) with the same genetic makeup as the original – not a duplicate of the original. Maybe you can write about 3-dimentional Xerography?

    Just one of my pet peeves…

    Steve Bell

     
  2. Grandpa

    August 13, 2012 at 2:26 pm

    Derek,

    There’s one thing that always bothers me in stories involving cloning: When you clone a living being you don’t end up with a fully grown, mature clone. If you clone a human, you will end up with an infant (or you can go back further to a zygote) with the same genetic makeup as the original – not a duplicate of the original. Maybe you can write about 3-dimentional Xerography?

    Just one of my pet peeves…

    Steve Bell

     

Leave a Reply

 
