RSS

Bonus post (and some words about tone)

15 Aug

Aaron, spoilers ahead, so unless you’re set, you may want to hold off still.

It’s been long documented that my breakthroughs tend to come on the 13th of the month. Well, this 13th (two days ago) I did a blog post, and Steve was nice enough to send me a comment warning about cloning and that it’s not replication. He suggested 3D photocopying essentially. While I didn’t go with the copying idea, I did take to hear what he said about cloning. He’s right. It’s a very glaring loophole and I didn’t want to get stuck in it.

But I really liked the idea I had. So I’m managing to change the field that the guy is in away from biotech and into another area. I kinda don’t want to give details, because I’m not done with the story yet and I’m not sure how much I will be actually revealing in the story. If there’s a catch-ending, I certainly don’t want to give it away in a blog post. Needless to say, I have something I think will work if you just suspend a little belief (but no so much belief that cloning results in an exact replica).

So I started writing and chose 1st person narrative, for reasons which make sense in the story. And the craziest thing happened – I got an instant “character” for the narrator. I mean, he obviously is a character, but more than that, I started typing immediately in a certain tone. And why I like it so much – it’s so very different than anything I’ve ever written before.

In thinking about my last 7 short stories, I think it’s pretty clear that I have a certain style and, dare I say, a certain tone to my writing. That’s not to say I don’t have versatility – I think the silly period piece would attest to that. But I think if you knew my writing well, you could read any of those stories anonymously and know instantly that I wrote it.

This story, I’m using swears like you wouldn’t believe and developing a real layered character to tell the story. I am kinda role-playing each time I sit down to write. I don’t quite know how it happened, but it seems so very right, I’m not going to stop. Hopefully soon I’ll even think of an ending.

1300 words down so far, hoping to have time in the next few days to tackle more.

p.s. I’ve taken to randomly picking words to my “tags” so that someday someone will Google “Steve” and “cloning” and hopefully find this post.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 15, 2012 in derek's writing, monthly topic

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
