RSS

Chipping away at the stone

18 Oct

Aaron, you can read the first sentence. There is NO way this will be ready to send for initial reading in 2 days. Not happening. I think if I’m lucky it will be done by next Tuesday night, the 23rd. From what Ash tells me (she’s not tellign me anything I shouldn’t know), you will need the extra time too. Okay, now piss off and close the door (remember THAT reference?)

So I’ve gotten around 1800 words done. I’m embracing something that Ash had suggested – that I should I should write a fairy tale. Of course, this isn’t a fairy tale, it’s MY take on a fairy tale. It’s actually a somewhat interesting blend of different styles, even from this series. There are elements of my “sentences” story (March), my staircase story (May?), and Verner Vinge’s “A Deepness in the Sky”. If the one idea I hatched today ends up in the story, there will also be a bit of Futurama in there.

I have a very brief outline of where I want the story to go. However, my last step is this: “Everyone wakes up and somehow the story resolves.” I’m writing this with no clear ending in mind. Not even the slightest clue. Normally, that’s not too different from how I’ve written in the past, but this one seems to be that I’m writing so specifically, only to really have no idea where I’m going with it is a bit unnerving. I’m writing naked out here.

I’m also having a MAJOR problem investing in this month. I’m finding I don’t want to write even when I have some ideas. October has been massively busy for me and it won’t ease up until after Sunday at the earliest. This one will be cutting in close no matter what.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 18, 2012 in derek's writing, monthly topic

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
